11/1/23

Howdy,

Photo:

I used this free app, Sun Tracker AR, when we were apartment hunting, but it turns out that there are other uses 🤣.

Clip:

While I haven’t read the book yet, I heard about this principle from Elon:


The only rules are the ones dictated by the laws of physics. Everything else is a mere recommendation.

And it really reminded me of this Steve Jobs quote:

“Life can be so much broader, once you discover one simple fact, and that is that everything around you that you call 'life' was made up by people who were no smarter than you. And you can change it, you can influence it, you can build your own things that other people can use. “

To me these are very much the same…

Basically just a reminder that everything is practically ‘made up’ by someone else.

Thought:

I don’t know why I find myself so bothered sometimes when it so long to order at a restaurant. But having found myself in this exact situation the other day, it occurred to me that it might be because it’s a different kind of issue.

Bear with me here…

There are 3 variables:

  • TWTO - Time Waiting to Order (the time it takes the waiter to take an order)

  • CT - Cook Time

  • TUE - Time Until Eating

So:
TUE = TWTO + CT

CT is always going to take an amount of time. Whether it’s 15 minutes or 20 minutes, or 30 minutes. Nothing I do, short of knowing which foods are fastest to cook, is going to alter this variable. That’s an unknown side, but it’s not the side I’m concerned with. Once an order goes to the kitchen, I assume they are generally prepped in order of receipt.

WTO is where my beef lies. I’ll give two scenarios, both where CT = 15.

One: TWTO = 3

Two: TWTO = 13

In scenario one, TUE is 18.

In scenario two, TUE is 28.

In the grand scheme, this doesn’t matter. But for some reason the TWTO gets me. Some of it is probably psychological. I know that every extra minute of TWTO, isn’t just an extra minute to eat, it’s that plus 15 or whatever the CT is.

Thanks for sticking with me… If you have thoughts I’d love to hear.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not expecting TWTO to be 0. But once it goes above 10, something has gone wrong with the world.

See ya next month!

-Troy