1/2/24

Howdy,

Happy New Year! (more on New Year’s below)

Photo:

Olivia and I went skiing for the first time together in Steamboat Springs, CO over Christmas.

I cannot recommend having warmers in your ski boots enough!

Clip:

It turns out spending money can increase happiness.

Listen to the clip, but here’s the list they talk about with #5 bringing the most happiness.

  1. Simply spending on stuff.

  2. Spending on a particular hobby or targeting segment. (ex. golf clubs.)

  3. Spending on experiences.

  4. Giving money in a targeted way. Something you care about.

  5. Spending on freedom inducing events or items. (Ex. jet or a personal assistant.). I don’t have a jet yet, but do have a personal assistant and can attest to the joys of that one!

Thought:

A revolution to achieve your resolutions.

Another year has passed. Time for New Year’s Resolutions!

Personally, I like to do more goal oriented look backs and future planning stuff than simply having a few resolutions.

But whether you say resolutions or goals, they are worthless unless the actions and habits to achieve them are prioritized.

There’s a saying I heard “Show me your calendar and I’ll show you your priorities.”

It’s 100% true. And that’s why every Tuesday on my calendar is blocked for golf in my pursuit to break 85 this year 🤣.

Which also reminds me of this quote:

“How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.” - Anne Dillard

So hopefully this yearly revolution is filled with the things that help you reach your resolutions!

See ya next month!

-Troy