1/7/23

Howdy,

Way too late for a Happy New Year right??? I wanted to send this on the first of each month, but I didn't prioritize and got caught up in the whirlwind of moving in to our new place in Lisbon. I'd forgotten how much effort furnishing an empty place is.

Photo:

Watching the World Cup in Nov/Dec was awesome.

Did the US do well? mehhh. Higher hopes for 2026 as one of the host countries.

But at least Messi finally got his trophy!

Clip:

Really worth a listen on how ChatGPT and the other AI LLMs will become commodities and the competitive advantage will be the utilization of proprietary data that feeds them. I'm going to be digging into this a lot more this year.

Thought:

I wanted to be an architect when I was young. When it came time to pick a major they said architecture school was 5 years and was very hard.

So what did I pick? Pre-med 🤣🤦‍♂️. Only to switch to business after a year... I guess it worked out.

Anyway, this apartment we've just moved into in Lisbon has just be redone and I'm finding myself questioning dozens of decisions the architect made. Placement of doors, room layouts, lighting decisions, kitchen cabinet decisions, shower nozzle heights... the list goes on. Does everyone do this?

I guess a lot of it comes down to personal preference, which is part of why I'd like to custom build a house some day. But I think I'd spend years going back and forth with an architect so that everything was subjectively 'perfect'. Curious how others' experience is with that sort of thing.

See ya next month!

-Troy