2/1/23

Howdy,

Side note:Olivia and I got 🥂 engaged 🥂 this month and have been getting some advice on weddings. Do you have any advice you can share, either from experience as a host and/or guest?Also, be sure to read the Thought section this month. I want your opinion.

Photo:

What's interesting here is that the main tourist spot, Cabo da Roca, is the thing you see in the distance. Cabo da Roca is the western most point in continental Europe, and that's where the tourist go. Where they don't go (or at least didn't this day) is where this photo was taken, which, imo, is a superior vantage than what is meant to be the attraction. It's a hike or jeep ride to get here, and that's probably why. There's no paved road.

Just a little reminder the best isn't always the most popular.

Clip:

This concept reminds me of that Steve Jobs quote "everything around you that you call life was made up by people that were no smarter than you."

Thought:

I like the idea of having a "guy" for certain things. A wine guy, a real estate guy, a meat guy... the list goes on. Do I have any of those things yet? Well, no, but I aspire to.So... when we moved to Lisbon, I was in search of a "Flower Guy". Essentially a florist that makes getting flowers on the reg as simple as a Whatsapp message. Does this exist? Not that I've found. I did find a florist I can message, but they link me to a pay site and I have to give them the address every time. And better yet, why are they not messaging me saying, "Hey, Olivia likes ranunculus. We just got these (insert photo)."? If I 👍, they send them. Badabing, badaboom. Betrothed of the month club sorted.The same situation existed for me in Arkansas. I had a florist I liked, but they never messaged me. Hundreds of dollars left on the table...

So my current working theory, aka "Troy's idea of the month", is that I could start/buy/partner with florist(s) and run this outbound messaging service that makes it so ridiculously easy to get flowers and probably quadruple the bottom line. If you have any thoughts on this, I'd love to hear them. Just reply to this email. I know zilch nada nil about the industry.

See ya next month!

-TG