6/4/24

Big news, Beer bikes, and Bowling

Howdy,

On a personal note, Olivia and I are expecting a baby at the very end of November!

Photo:

Not blue, which made Olivia very happy!

Idea:

I got the chance to do one of those drinking beer bikes for a stag do in Lisbon. I say stag do because it was for a British guy… A bachelor party is what it was.
You’ve seen these right? 12 people get on the thing and pedal to propel the bike while drinking beer for an hour or so.
So we get on the bike and start pedaling. I notice the guy across from me not pedaling. Can’t be bothered (another British term) apparently, and then I start thinking, who else isn’t pedaling. Who is just moving their legs idling around?

This could easily be solved with a power meter attached to each pedal/gear set and a scoreboard screen to display who is pedaling the most, and more importantly, the least.

A simple gamification of this thing would help so much!

Am I going to buy Lisbon Beer Bike and install power meters? No, but I definitely told them to do so.

Thought:

I find it interesting that despite the number of people who go bowling, a ridiculously high percentage of people I’ve ever gone bowling with don’t understand exactly how the scoring works. I remember my mom hand scoring at the Pine Bluff, AR bowling alley before there were those automatic scoring monitors. I’m not sure I learned then, but I don’t really remember a time when I didn’t understand how it worked.

Do you know?

If your throws for the first four frames are:

  • 9,1 (spare)

  • Strike

  • Strike

  • 2,7

What’s your total after 4 frames?

It’s: “70
(highlight in between the quotes to see)



If you want to know how, I’ve drawn a simple illustration below:

The “hard” parts are the spares and the strikes.

Spare frames get the value of the next rolled ball (from the next frame) added to it. So in our spare example, it gets the 10 from the second frame.

Strike frames get the value of the next two rolls (which could come from the next two rolls of the next frame, or, if you get another strike, a value from the next two frames). In our example, frame two gets an extra 10 from frame three and 2 from frame four. Frame three gets and extra 2 and 7 from frame four.

If you think about how you can get 300, a perfect game, it makes sense. Each frame value, all ten of them (thirteen rolls in total), is 30.

This is why on the tenth frame, if you bowl a spare, you get one more roll. Because that roll is added to the tenth frame. And if you bowl a strike on the tenth frame, you get two more rolls.

Hope this was useful!

See ya next month!

-Troy