12/3/23

Howdy,

Hope you had an excellent Thanksgiving!

Photo:

3 Days of Short Game

I got to go down to the south of Portugal and do a 3 day short game clinic through Pelz Golf.
It was really interesting to see the path of a golf ball and how it tracks on the way to the hole.
Apparently the target aim is exactly 3x the apex off of the direct line from the ball to the hole. Unfortunately you’re not given any of those two variables to start…
But one thing that was really helpful was practicing rolling the putt straight based on the target aim. I had a tendency not to trust my line and change the aim at the last second toward the hole.

Clip:

I have an ecomm project I’ll be launching in the next few months and have been consuming a lot of content in the DTC space.
This entire episode is gold, but I was really surprised to learn that 30-40% of customers actually fill out surveys post purchase. They say to ask for their birthday and tshirt size as a psychological play that gets people to actually complete the survey because they think they might get something. Always love hearing about those types of things!

Thought:

New Words

I’ve been reading a book series on kindle, and whenever I find a word I don’t know, I highlight it and it syncs through to my notes app. So this month, I’m sharing three I marked. I don’t know if it’s that I’ve never heard them before as much as they aren’t really a part of my regular vocabulary yet… Do you use any of these already?

officious

untoward

ebullience

officious
adjective
of·​fi·​cious ə-ˈfi-shəs 

1
: volunteering one's services where they are neither asked nor needed : MEDDLESOME
officious people who are always ready to offer unasked advice
2
: INFORMAL, UNOFFICIAL
officious conversations between foreign ministers
untoward
adjective
un·​to·​ward ˌən-ˈtō-ərd  -ˈtȯ(-ə)rd; ˌən-tə-ˈwȯrd 

1
: difficult to guide, manage, or work with : UNRULY, INTRACTABLE
2
a
: marked by trouble or unhappiness : UNLUCKY
b
: not favorable : ADVERSE, UNPROPITIOUS
untoward side effects
3
: IMPROPER, INDECOROUS
ebullience
noun
ebul·​lience i-ˈbu̇l-yən(t)s  

: the quality of lively or enthusiastic expression of thoughts or feelings : EXUBERANCE

See ya next month!

-Troy